December 11, 2023



His Excellency, the Zamfara State Executive Governor Hon. Dr. Bello Mohammed Matawalle MON (Shattiman Sakkwato) has today Thursday May 20th 2021, launched the state’s chapter of Zamfara COVID-19 Action Recovery and Stimulus Programme, known as CARES.

CARES is a stimulus program conceived by the Nigeria Governors Forum and introduced in all the 36 states of the federation as well as the Federal Capital Territory and being implemented with the support of the World Bank.

The programme would be addressed as Zamfara CARES for you Programme, and its motto would be Matawalle Vision 2023.

He said during the inauguration of Zamfara CARES and two other committees that CARES will accomplish its responsibilities through social transfer, livelihood grants, provision of basic structures, support to Medium and Small scale Enterprises and ensuring food security.

The Shattiman Sakkwato who noted that armed banditry has threatened food security and the general economic growth of the state expressed confidence that the programme would in addition work with the First Lady’s Office to address the issue of malnutrition in the State and also serve as panacea to positive changes and development in the state.

He stated that despite the impediments caused by insecurity and the COVID-19 Pandemic, his administration has made colossal investment in primary, secondary and tertiary education, healthcare delivery, roads infrastructure, construction of a cargo airport and a variety of other fields with a view to turning around the fortunes of the State.

Accordingly, the program which will be delivered through the three platforms of CSDA, FADAMA, the Ministry of Commerce and State’s CARES Coordinating Unit with government interacting through members of the Steering Committee will ensure adequate supervision of the Delivery Platforms to deliver the services that are required.

He further explained that services that CARES will deliver to the common man of Zamfara State are:

1. Livelihood Grants-  N 3.4 Billion

2. Food Security – N 3.4 Billion and

3. Job Creation through MSEs – N 2 Billion

The Matawalle Vision 2023 has eminent personalities comprising technocrats and politicians appointed to execute the onerous assignment with Alhaji Ibrahim Jibo Magayaki, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning- Chairman;
Ibrahim Abdullahi, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Agriculture- member;
Rabiu Garba, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Commerce- member;
Sufyanu Bashir Yuguda, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Finance,  member; Garba Altine Dauran, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning- member; Kabiru Mohammed Gayari, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance- member; lbrahim Dan Nabirgi, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Agriculture- member;
Hamisu Shayau, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Commerce- member; CSDA Chairman- member; and Mukhtar Ibrahim of Ministry of Budget to serve as Secretary.

Similarly, the Human Capital Development Council which came as a result of the resolution by the National Economic Council  consists of 3 components of Health and Nutrition, Education and Labour force to achieve 24 million additional healthy, educated and productive  Nigerians for a globally competitive nation by 2030. This is aimed to provide equitable access to affordable and quality healthcare for every Nigerian, promote a quality, inclusive and functional education system and empower youth to have the capacity and skills to create or seek employment.

The state Council has Alhaji Bala Bello Maru, Secretary to the State Government- Chairman; Alhaji Ibrahim Jibo Magayaki, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning- member; Yahaya Muhammad, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Health- member, Abdullahi Gurbin Bore, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Higher Education- member; Alhaji Aliyu Tukur ES, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Education- member; Alhaji Yahaya Chado Gora, Honourable Commissioner Ministry for Local Governments- member; and Malam Dalhatu Morai of Ministry of Budget as Secretary.

The governor also inaugurated a Committee to Identify Serviceable and Unserviceable Vehicles and Plants across all MDAs. This will allow the government to keep track of all of its vehicles and plants and their current State. The inventory will help the government make potential decisions on vehicle purchases, maintenance, and auctions.

The members of the Committee are, Alhaji Ibrahim Jibo Magayaki, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning- Chairman; Alhaji Aliyu Tukur ES, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Education- member; Alhaji Mohammed Sadiq Maiturare Bungudu, Honourable Commissioner Water Resources- member; Alhaji Abdullahi Mohammed Gurbin Bore, Honourable Commissioner Ministry of Higher Education- member; Alhaji Aliyu Bello Maradun, Permanent Secretary, General Services- secretary while Mohammed Abdullahi Shinkafi- will serve as Assistant secretary.

Matawalle who  reminded members of the three committees that they were chosen to carry out the tasks assigned to their respective committees in appreciation of their integrity, commitment, and hard work also charged them to demonstrate these qualities in the course of conducting the assignments.

Delivering an acceptance speech on behalf of the committee members, Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Bala Bello Maru assured the governor that they will work diligently to justify the enormous confidence reposed in them .

He added that all the members of the committees collectively share the same vision of having a new Zamfara State that is secured, prosperous and developed where the yearnings and expectations of the populace would be met.

He assured to work efficiently round the clock according to the terms of reference given to them.

Alhaji Bala Bello also thanked the governor for finding them worthy to serve in the various committees.

The event was attended by the state Deputy Governor Barr. Mahdi Aliyu Gusau, former Deputy Governor, Hon Muktar Ahmad Anka, Head of Service, Alhaji Kabiru Balarabe, Deputy Chief of Staff, Dr Bashir Mohammed Maru, Commissioners and Special Advisers, Permanent Secretaries and Directors-General, PDP Exco and Senior government officials among others.

Director General, Media Public Enlightenment and Communications.
Government House, Gusau.
20th May, 2021

Think it's cool... Please share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *